PBLWorks Announces its 2024 Award Winners

The 2024 PBL Champions and recipients of the 2024 John Larmer “JL” Lifelong Learning Award were announced at the PBL World conference in Napa Valley

The Buck Institute for Education (dba PBLWorks), a national provider of professional development for high quality Project Based Learning (PBL), has revealed the winners of its 2024 PBL Champions award program, as well as the three educators selected for its John Larmer “JL” Lifelong Learning Award. The winners, which were announced at the non-profit organization’s 2024 PBL World conference in Napa Valley, were selected for their commitment to PBL.

The 2024 PBL Champions:

The PBL Champions awards program recognizes an individual, a school and a school district that have demonstrated a commitment to PBL; have done quality, lasting work; and have shown evidence of impact on students. The 2024 recipients are:

  • District PBL Champion: University Prep Schools (Detroit, Michigan)
  • School PBL Champion: Paul Culley Elementary School (Clark County School District, Las Vegas, Nevada)
  • Individual PBL Champion: Keisha Tyson-Johnson, district math and science coach (Atlanta Public Schools, Georgia)

John Larmer “JL” Lifelong Learning Award

The John Larmer “JL” Lifelong Learning Award is named after PBLWorks’ former director of publications and editor-in-chief, John “JL” Larmer. The award acknowledges educators who are impacting and expanding the work of Project Based Learning. The 2024 recipients are:

  • Katrice Dixon, Lake Worth Community Middle School (School District of Palm Beach County, Florida)
  • Jeromy Payne, John P. Freeman Optional School (Memphis-Shelby County Schools, Tennessee)
  • Marivi Hardy, Mission Achievement Success Charter School (Albuquerque, NM)

The winners were highlighted at PBLWorks’ 2024 PBL World conference, a multi-day Project Based Learning conference bringing together K-12 teachers, instructional coaches, and school and district leaders who want to begin or advance their Project Based Learning practice and connect with a community of their peers.

“Project Based Learning is transforming classrooms, schools and districts across the country thanks to the commitment and dedication of passionate educators and administrators,” said PBLWorks CEO Bob Lenz. “We created these awards programs to recognize these individuals, as well as the schools and districts, that have embraced PBL and are leading the way in implementing it with students. Congratulations to all of the recipients, this honor is well deserved.”

To learn more about the awards programs visit:

  • PBL Champions:
  • John Larmer “JL” Lifelong Learning Award:

The American Consortium for Equity in Education, publisher of the "Equity & Access" journal, celebrates and connects the educators, associations, community partners and industry leaders who are working to solve problems and create a more equitable environment for historically underserved pre K-12 students throughout the United States.

Share this page with your friends and colleagues:


Interested in writing for us?

Send us your insight so we can share it! We welcome article submissions from educators, advocates, thought leaders and companies who are working to make education more equitable, accessible and inclusive.
Let's keep in touch! Click to join our email list & subscribe to our newsletter.

Skip to content