2024 Excellence in Equity Awards: Educator Winners

2024 Excellence in Equity Awards

Without educators, where would we be?

We’re excited to be highlighting the winners and honorable mentions of the 2024 Excellence in Equity Awards during Teacher Appreciation Week! Click on the names below to learn about these outstanding educators, practitioners and leaders.

Congratulations — and thank you to everyone who’s working to make teaching and learning more equitable and inclusive.

2024 Winners

Champion of Equity
General Education Teacher

Champion of Equity
Special Education

Champion of Equity
Social-Emotional Learning

Champion of Equity
Mental Health Professional

Champion of Equity
Technology Leadership

Champion of Equity
Support Staff

Champion of Equity
Librarian or Media Specialist

Champion of Equity
Teacher Recruitment and Retention

Champion of Equity
Resilient Schools and Districts

Honorable Mentions

Saido Abdirashid, Special Education Director at Multiple Districts

Karen Blaha, Assistant Professor at University of St. Francis

Dr. Antonio Boyd, President and CEO Think Tank Consulting Group, Lecturer Northeastern University, Columnist Getting Smart at Northeastern University, South Carolina After School Alliance

Anna Marie Candelario, Director of Planning and Development of CUSD 308 Oswego, IL

Nury Castillo Crawford, Executive Director of Madison Metropolitan School District

Dr. Jennifer Cruz, Superintendent at Pendergast Elementary School District

Kevin Gallagher, Computer and Data Science Educator at Keystone Oaks High School, Keystone Oaks School District

Amy Handy, Teacher at Laurel High School Laurel School District

Matthew Iske, Founder & General Manager / Entrepreneurship Teacher at Abraxas High School / Poway

Dominique Janeway, Education Specialist- School Improvement at Education Service Center- Region 2

Dr. Lori Koerner, Assistant Superintendent at Riverhead CSD

Dr. Latasha Casterlow-Lalla, Supervisor of Visual & Performing Arts at Passaic Public Schools

Dr. Catherine Linhardt, STEAM & Technology Integration Specialist at Pendergast Elementary School District

Dr. Oscar Macias, Director of Equity, Access, and Family Engagement at Glendale Unified

Joanna McDonough, Dean of Teaching and Learning at Brooks School, North Andover, MA

Sean Mullins, Instructional Technology Director at Olympia CUSD 16

Sheri Murphy, Assistant Principal at Frederick High School Frederick County Public Schools, MD

Hilda Ortega-Rosales, Pendergast District Governing Board Member at Pendergast Elementary School District

Susan Shapiro, Associate Professor at Touro Graduate School of Education

Gladys Faith Spencer, Special Education Teacher at Floyd Central High School

Dr. LaTanya Strange, Coordinator, Diversity, Equity and Family Engagement at Desert Sands Unified School District – Administrative Offices

September Strategies
September Strategies

Share this page with your friends and colleagues:

Skip to content